“Woo Hoo!—I found my Grandparents.”

Adoption Detective | A True Story by Judith Land

Adoption Detective | Judith Land | Grandparents The overwhelming majority of grandparents think being a grandparent is the single most important and satisfying thing in their life.

I recently discovered the identity of my maternal grandparents. My mother was adopted. She had never seen an image of her parents and was uncertain of their names. When the mystery of their identity was eventually solved and I viewed their faces in a photograph for the first time, I felt immediately connected with them and culturally linked to the past. My reaction was quietly introspective, overtly affirmative, and genuinely positive. I was overcome by immense feelings of joy, healing, and understanding produced by a deep sense of connectedness, belonging, and genealogical closure.

The cognitive knowledge and reactivity in response to those who are familiar to us is heart-rending. Emotional intelligence has a profound influence on our instinctual confirmation of identity. The psychological reactions produced by great works of art…

View original post 291 more words

Leave a Reply

