36 and 10 / What I’ve Learned About Adoption

Sharing this blog. I love hearing the voice of the adoptee. Their experience can teach us all.

written.

Today marks 36 years since my arrival from Calcutta. It’s hard for me to believe that one year ago I was back in Calcutta on the 35th anniversary filming Calcutta is My Mother.

I’ve spent the past 2 years researching adoption, having heart to heart conversations with adoptees, and writing down every thought and feeling of my own. Today I’m sharing 10 personal thoughts/things I’ve learned about adoption. You may not appreciate them all but I hope my intentions are not misunderstood. I do not claim to speak for all adoptees; I’m sharing based on discussions I’ve had with fellow adoptees and my own personal findings.

  1. Adoption can be good and/or bad. After all my research, I still maintain adoption can be an incredibly beautiful and positive experience. It mostly has been for me. However, when it is wonderful, it isn’t without trauma, grief, and sorrow. Adoption can also be horrific…

View original post 1,270 more words

Leave a Reply

