Collateral Damage: On Adoption, Beheadings, and Invisible Siblings

This blogger makes some valid points. I’ve asked myself questions about this very topic when it seemed as if some wanted to not recognize my sons as brothers when they themselves know they are brothers.

Letters to Ms. Feverfew

Did you know Abdul-Rahman Peter Kassig, one of the recent beheading victims of the Islamic State, was an adoptee?

When I first heard it on the news (and once I started breathing again) my first question was: Does his mother know?  Forgive me, it’s a knee-jerk reaction I have whenever I hear of an adoptee’s passing. And by mother, I do not mean adoptive mother. I mean the woman in whose womb Peter was knitted together. Because surely, his adoptive mother knows, since she’s all over the news (and seems like a perfectly lovely woman, by the way.) But his first mother – the woman who bled for him as she labored him into this world – did she know he was gone?

Through some quick Internet research, I learned that Abdul-Rahman Peter Kassig had indeed found his first mother soon after his 18th birthday and had become close…

View original post 708 more words

Leave a Reply

