What to Do When Your Family Doesn’t Support Transracial Adoption

What to Do When Your Family Doesn’t Support Transracial Adoption

“So what do you do if you have a family member like this? For us, we leaned on other family members for support. We also didn’t go and visit my grandfather. That pained me, but I could not be around someone who did not accept my son. We made it clear that we loved our son no matter what color his skin was and that we expected the same from our family. Eventually my grandfather realized his way of thinking was wrong. He finally held my son when he was 3 months old. Sadly, my grandfather died one week later.”

This is good advice for mixed race biological families as well.

Leave a Reply

