The Box

I wrote this poem when I was in high school, over 30 years ago.  It was originally written in pencil but I retyped it for this post.  I also drew this picture.  I don’t draw very well, now or back then.  That’s one talent I didn’t get.  However, somehow I managed to draw this picture which accurately conveys how I felt in this poem…

 

“I’m in a box inside myself from which I can’t give or receive love.  I tried so many ways to get myself out but it’s like a jail with a dictator who says I can never learn to love or receive love until I know what love means.  Until I find out how to feel it, know it, express it, love it, and let it love me.  To be free and easy.  I have to be honest with myself in order for myself to be honest with me.  These things I have to learn.  Until then, I’m a box inside myself from which I have no feelings.”

Solemn Sadness…

Image

Leave a Reply

